5 Reasons Why it Sucks to be Muslim in America

Posted: October 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

Being a Muslim in America sucks. Plain and simple. It has nothing to do with the country or state itself, but after September 11th, it seems as though its just harder to be  a Muslim in a country that at times does not seem very welcoming.

1. Being Discriminating Against. It doesn’t matter where you’re from if you “look” like your from a country where a Moeslum (by the way its not spelled or pronounced that way so stop saying it like that) is from then you face discrimination, stereotyping, injustice etc. You may even just be a convert to Islam, and have blue eyes and blonde hair- it doesn’t matter. As soon as you put on that kufi or hijab, you are considered a foreigner. According to The Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life released a poll in September showing that Muslims are thought to suffer more discrimination than any other U.S. religious group, by a wide margin. Being discriminated against stinks, the only advantage of people hating,  is that people don’t want to sit next to me on the train. Yay to more leg room!!

2. The #$%@ing TSA. Seriously, do I have to be patted down each time I’m going to fly. I had nothing to do with the attacks on September 11th, so why I am treated like a criminal? I say pat down everyone. At least be fair about it. The last time I was flying out of DIA my sister and I (who both happen to wear scarves) both were taken aside for “random screening”. The lady that was behind me asked the TSA guy if she had to go to the side as well but he answered that she didnt because it was a random selection. Bullshit! If these security systems are as great as they claim them to be, then there would be no reason you have to pat me down or pat down my scarf. Seriously?! What do they think I have under my scarf, a supersoaker? (That would be awesome)

3. People Assume You Are From Some Foreign Country. I just dont know what it is about people assuming that just because your Muslim that you are from another country. The truth of the matter is that the majority of Muslims do not live in the Middle East. Just because the US is at war with Iraq and Afghanistan (for God knows what reasons) doesn’t mean that every Muslim is from Iraq or Afghanistan. I have also had people that because they have traveled to some Middle Eastern country then that means you must be from there too. I just find it a reason for them to talk to me about their latest vacation. No Im not from Morocco, and no I dont care that you just came back from there! I should just be mean and start making up countries when people ask me where Im from. Like Agraba (Alladin), Islamistan, Camel-lots, Arabistan, and the list can go on :D.
4. American Muslims and Muslims Overseas (Yes, there’s a difference). Not all Muslims are the same. There is no way you can possibly put all Muslims under the same umbrella. Muslims share the same faith, but culture can (unfortunately) have an effect on how a person practices their religion. Customs, traditions and even how they dress is dependent on the region of the Muslims. As a Muslim American i do not condone any types of oppressive acts and injustices done by other Muslims overseas. Dont stop me in the middle of the grocery store to ask me about the war in Iraq or sharia law.  Muslims in the US have to  deal with a bunch of idiots overseas that choose to do things that are conflicting and contradictory to the religion and to make it worst do it in then name of Islam. To sum it up: I am not responsible for what happens overseas that go against my religion, so dont associate what happens there with Muslims in the US.

5. The Death Stare. Do I have something in my teeth? No, probably not but I did just eat a bowl of Malakeya (that green soup we eat). But for some reason I was the only one who was raised with the rule that staring is NOT polite. Seriously. Do you really think that I wouldnt notice you staring at me? You’re standing right in front of my in the line at the grocery store (crazy ppl shop there!). I dont know how many times i have just wanted to scream at these people and say WHAT?! ARE YOU STARING AT?! And then walk away. I dont know if its because Im the first Muslim women you have ever seen, frankly that makes no sense. Or maybe I just look so good looking that you couldnt help it. Must be that! I do however have a solution to this issue…its quite simple..you stare back! Try it. Give them the death stare back and just sit there waiting, they will quickly turn their head away. Problem solved.

Regardless of how hard it can be, I am proud to be Muslim and I couldnt see myself living anywhere else but here.

Leave a comment